Facebook Logo   Instagram Logo

About Us

Contact the SLOBC

President: president@slobc.org
Ride Coordinator: ride-coordinator@slobc.org
Wildflower & Lighthouse Century Questions: century-registration@slobc.org
Webmaster: webmaster@slobc.org
Directory: Volunteer Directory
Phone: 805-543-5973 (Answering Machine)
Address: SLOBC, P.O. Box 1585, San Luis Obispo, CA 93406


To promote safe and legal bicycle riding for recreation and transportation.


A community that encourages and supports bicycling and respects the shared and courteous use of roadways, trails and paths.


  • Riding our bicycles with friends
  • Exploring our environment by bicycle
  • Sharing our transportation system with motorists, bicyclists and pedestrians
  • Organizing cycling programs and events
  • Promoting bicycle safety
  • Funding bicycle-related organizations and programs
  • Advocating for laws and infrastructure improvements that support safe cycling


Bob Garing Service Award

In 2001 the club presented Bob Garing with the first SLOB Bob Garing Service Award "In recognition of many years of unselfish service to the San Luis Obispo Bicycle Club."

Each year we invite club members to nominate people whom they feel deserve to receive this award. Submit names to committee members no later than the end of February (the committee is made up of the past recipients of the award). This committee will evaluate nominations and make a rcommendation to the board.

When deciding if you want to submit a nomination, consider the following characteristics that Bob Garing demonstrated over the years:

  • Continuing service over a long period of time – not less than 10 years (Core requirement — very important)
  • Service to the club as an officer, volunteer, leader or other ways (Core requirement)
  • Advocacy of bicycle transportation, facilities and safe riding
  • Service to the bicycling community and community at large
  • Significant leadership on club rides
  • Working for improved bicycle conditions
  • Mentoring through advice, education and leadership
Name Award Date
Bob Garing December 2001
Stu & Janie Goldenberg June 2004
John & Pat Rogers June 2005
Bruce Collier June 2006
Joan Petersen May 2007
Robert "Red" and Gail Davis August 2008
Tim & Shelley Long June 2009
Frank Mullin June 2010
Dale & Sharon Sutliff June 2011
Glenn & Gail Vanderlinde June 2012
Dave Abrecht June 2013
William Benedict June 2014
Chris Broome June 2015
Robin Dery June 2016
Kathleen McHugh June 2017
Ken Price June 2018